Tags

, , ,

Well, we did it.  We successfully celebrated our version of the National Day of Thanksgiving.  The family gathered at the appointed time, the turkey was done (but not overdone), the peas and gravy were the only dishes that needed re-heating by the time everyone was seated, and the mealtime conversation was drama-free (that doesn’t always happen)!  It is a miracle that any of us had room for the meal, since we had such a lovely spread of snacks ahead of time.  There was no table cloth, as the one big enough for the table and both leaves was still in storage, but we managed somehow.  We used my grandmother’s Sterling silver, novelty dishes gifted by a good friend (the Good China is also in storage), and paper napkins decorated with cartoon turkeys.  It was not Martha Stewart, but it was comfortable and it fit us perfectly.

At the beginning of the meal I announced that, instead of saying Grace, we would take turns around the table telling what we were thankful for.  When it was my seven year old granddaughter’s turn, she whipped out a piece of paper and read us the following:  “Thankful.  I’m thankful for my family.  We have fun playing board games.  I love playing Mouse Trap.  It’s very fun!  I am thankful for my friends.  They are always there for me.  I have so many friends.  I’m thankful for my yellow dog Chance.  We sleep together a lot.  He is my most favorite dog!  But most of all I’m thankful for my friends and family.  They mean a lot to me!  Lily N.”

The consensus at the table was that we were thankful for each other and being loved.  And I pray that we will remember that every single day, not just on our designated Thanksgiving Day.

