Tags

, , , , ,

If the old carol held true, I should have received “three French hens, two turtledoves, and a partridge in a pear tree” today, on this third day of Christmas. But no, there were no hens delivered today, French or otherwise, or any other feathery friends. Christmas Day was glorious, yesterday (Boxing Day in the UK and Canada) went by in a blur, and today was mostly blah.

Today we tripped over teeny tiny toys in the living room, took the extra leaf out of the kitchen table, and said a wistful goodbye to my son and daughter-in-love. The post-Christmas laundry was stacking up and the clothes both girls received as gifts needed putting away. In other words, it was an ordinary day…although made less ordinary by the still-beautiful (artificial) tree and Christmas cards on display.

I will quietly celebrate the Twelve Days of Christmas through Epiphany (January 6), also known as “Armenian Christmas”, and think about the “gift of the day” each day as I enjoy Mom’s favorite carol. This Sunday evening will include “lessons and carols” at church…probably my favorite service each year. I never tire of the traditional Christmas hymns, and of singing each and every verse.

Remembering with joy “the reason for the season”, I hope to follow Mary’s example and “treasure these words and ponder them in [my] heart”. May God bring you peace throughout this Christmas season, and always.

