Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today I’d like to tip my red and white striped top hat to Theodore Seuss Geisel, the incredible man the world knows simply as “Dr. Seuss”. His birthday (he would have been 110) was actually yesterday, but the “Read Across America” tradition that has grown up around celebrating it is taking place all week long in schools, libraries, and book-loving homes all around the world. Thank you, National Teachers Association, for creating this wonderful event.

My first encounter with the magical, wacky world of Dr. Seuss was through Horton Hears a Who, which was first published in 1954. I don’t remember exactly when, but I think I was probably a third grader when I discovered it at the San Bernardino Public Library, where I proudly got my first library card at the ripe old age of 5.

Today, Granddaughter #1 ate Green Eggs and Ham at her elementary school; Granddaughter #2 will be wearing her pajamas to preschool tomorrow as part of We Love Reading week. Every day there will be a special wacky activity, with LOTS of Seussical readings.

For the grown-ups, or those who might want to be some day, Dr. Seuss wrote two cautionary tales: You’re Only Old Once (1986) tells about the perils of growing older from a health-care point of view, and Oh, the Places You’ll Go (1990) reminds us that there are no limits to what we can accomplish other than the ones we place upon ourselves.

And, although Louisa May Alcott may have written, “Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents!” in Little Women, around our house the Christmas season arrives with the cartoon version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” on television.

I would love to hear when and where you first met Dr. Seuss, and who is your favorite character. Leave me a comment and we can share.

