Tags

, ,

The Oxford English Dictionaries (online) show several definitions for the adjective “authentic”:
Of undisputed origin; genuine
Made or done in the traditional way
Based on facts

But my favorite, and the one I try to emulate with Trigger’s Horse is this:

[In existentialist philosophy] Relating to or denoting an emotionally appropriate, significant, purposive, and responsible mode of human life.

I would be the first to admit that authenticity in this manner is a pretty lofty goal. And the thing with goals is that often what you do as you strive for a goal is more important than actually reaching it. So whether you are new to Trigger’s Horse or have been on this journey with me for a while, please come with me as I continue my quest for an “emotionally appropriate, significant, purposive, and responsible mode of life. I promise you an interesting ride.

