Tags

, , , , , ,

Merriam-Webster.com defines “youthful” as “having or showing the freshness or energy of someone who is young; having or showing the innocence, hope, lack of knowledge, etc., of someone who is young”.

The first thing that comes to my mind when I hear the term “youthful” is that it is hardly ever used when talking about a man. Our society doesn’t worry about our men looking or acting “youthful”. But if you pay attention to especially the cosmetic advertising, youthfulness is a VERY IMPORTANT QUALITY for women. I must admit that our society’s fixation on youthfulness wouldn’t bother me at all if it were a concern across the board. But singling out women makes the whole concept stink.

That being said, I still can appreciate a spirit of youthfulness, and that youthful spirit is much more an inner attitude rather than an outward lack of wrinkles. This picture taken at my daughter’s wedding perfectly captures my mother’s youthful attitude. And my sister and I were loving every minute of this dance, too.

Dancing with Mom at Georgia's wedding

Dancing with Mom at Georgia’s wedding

