Tags

, , ,

Tonight I gave myself a long-awaited treat: I took myself to see (and hear) The Sons of the San Joaquin in concert at Gateway Church. I have all but one of their CDs and am pretty sure the angels in Heaven listen to their music. If you haven’t heard of them, think The Sons of the Pioneers (including Roy Rogers), but more mellow. Cowboy music, not country music.

Lon Hannah yodels like my Uncle Berry used to. I spent most of the concert with tears in my eyes, but a song in my heart. These guys are the real deal…so steeped in cowboy history and tradition, and eager to share it with the whole world. I just wish Daddy could have been with me. He loves their music, too, and would have had such a good time.

The Sons of the San Joaquin from my vantage point in the fourth row.

The Sons of the San Joaquin from my vantage point in the fourth row.

