Tags

, , ,

Tonight it was my privilege to toast to the future of a friend who graduated from college this morning. I have watched him grow from a gawky teenager to a charming adult, and it was with great joy that I shared in the toast. There is something so precious about these young men on the cusp of their limitless futures that it gives me hope for our world.

In a typically ironic twist, the Scotch I drank to Devin was given to me in celebration of a life cut short this past year by a heart no one knew was faulty. So in my happiness for Devin I was also remembering a delightfully intelligent man with a sardonic sense of humor who shared my love for good booze. Russ, wherever you are in Heaven, I salute you!

(And for those of you who read about my almost haircut Thursday, I will have a picture tomorrow.)

