Tags

, , , , ,

Happiness is a weekend with no drama, only joy! Yesterday I talked about my best friend’s upcoming wedding, and how this one would differ from the others. Last night I watched through tears as she floated down the aisle on the arm of her youngest daughter to marry the man of her grown-up dreams. I love the happiness that simply sparkles from this picture.

The newlyweds are all smiles.

The newlyweds are all smiles.

.

Today we celebrated the birthdays of both my granddaughters with a My Little Pony-themed party. The house was filled with the chatter and laughter of family and friends, spiced with delicious food and oodles of presents. Here are the stars of the day with their birthday cupcakes.

The birthday girls blowing out their candles

The birthday girls blowing out their candles

In our family we have a tradition of post-birthday party gatherings, where the new toys are carefully removed from their packaging and the clothes are tried on amidst much ooh-ing and aah-ing by those special people who don’t go home simply because the party has ended. This is what Lily’s part of the living room looked like.

Lily among the presents

Lily among the presents

I have already announced that no one is to wake me up in the morning before my alarm goes off. I will be sleeping in (if possible) before waking to remember the veterans who made our country and the world a safer place to live.

