Tags

, , , , ,

Let’s face it: I’m a sucker for books with the word “librarian” in the title. I see that word and instantly know the book will be brilliant, exciting, and informative. (Which, strangely enough, is exactly how I feel about libraries.) So when I saw The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanagarne in the New Adult Non-Fiction section last Friday I snatched it up without even opening it.

Taking a closer look at the front cover at home, I read the subtitle on the spines of the stack of books: A memoir of Tourette’s, faith, strength, and the power of family. Wow! Quite a mix, don’t you think?

I have been fascinated by Tourette’s syndrome for many years, having two friends who lived with its challenges daily. I had so many questions. Why are some days better than others? How can you stand not being in control of your body? Are you getting better or worse?

Mr. Hanagarne shares these challenges candidly, from when he first began experiencing tics in elementary school to the myriad “solutions” he tried over the years, finally discovering that through weight lifting he could lessen the presence of tics and vocalizations. I’ll stop here, but there is plenty more to read.

Check it out today, or visit his website.

