Tags

, , , ,

Since getting married 33 years ago, I have had to find my own little corner of the yard for tea and a book, as my spouse “didn’t do outside”. But Georgia surprised me a couple of days ago by arranging this small tea table for me, under the big elm tree where it is always shady. She brought the African violet outside from in the house, but the heat would have quickly scorched it, so I stopped by Lowe’s and found this hanging basket of Lobelia, petunias, and other tiny flowers to hang from the branch.

My new cozy spot for tea and a book, under the elm tree by the clothes line.

My new cozy spot for tea and a book, under the elm tree by the clothes line.

Each of the past two mornings I have headed outside early with my book, to visit with the birds and enjoy the early morning breeze. Today the hummingbird came to the Rose of Sharon, then flitted over to the feeder. He didn’t linger, but visited the other Rose of Sharon and then flew away. But he at least tried the hummingbird feeder, so I can expect him to return.

I had to giggle at the contrast between my cozy little corner, china tea mug (for Sundays, the rest of the time I have my Close To My Heart thermal cup), and my reading material — Young Money: Inside the hidden world of Wall Street’s post-crash recruits, by Kevin Roose. The book content is nowhere near as bucolic as my setting!

