Tags

, , ,

It almost rained today. I was so excited when I realized that the rumbling sounds that woke me at 6:45 were not heavy equipment, but honest-to-goodness thunder! (Followed by the neighbor’s leaf blower and edger before 7:00 a.m., but that’s a rant for another day.) I quickly made tea, got dressed, and went outside, not wanting to miss a single minute of the delightful storm.

The sky got darker and darker, and the air got thick and humid. After awhile the breeze kicked up,the temperature dropped about 5 degrees and I could taste that wonderful wet dirt smell. But the rain didn’t follow on cue.

Across Facebook, friends were sharing rain notes…rain on the south side, rain on the northwest side, rain just down the street. But no rain here. Finally Georgia brought her makeup outside to use the good light, and got raindrops on her makeup brush. And the 15 or so drops that chased her indoors were all we got.

Later I went to the Library for the Crafty meeting (nobody at the Library knew anything about it, even though it was posted on their activity calendar) and discovered wet streets and sidewalks. Evidently it rained at School and Encina Streets!

We had more thunder as the sun was setting, and I considered getting excited again. The thermometer topped out at 100 degrees, a bit cooler than expected. It is still 84 degrees at nearly 11:30 p.m., with 58% humidity, and absolutely no rain.

I think we need a rain dance.

