Tags

, , , ,

This was the first Facebook post I saw this morning: “Guess what today is?” was asked by a teacher friend who was getting married later in the day. A few minutes ago I was able to look at a picture of her standing next to her new husband, beaming with happiness.

Another friend’s grandbaby got his first haircut today –from the woman who gave his mama her first haircut many years ago, too.

Rain was falling at Geri’s house. Lucky girl — I’m jealous!

Throughout the day, various sister consultants shared glimpses of the new Close To My Heart Annual Inspirations book, or reported on their open house plans.

New "My Crush" album and embellishments would make a great "girlie" gift!

New “My Crush” album and embellishments would make a great “girlie” gift!

I discovered that my movie super hero alter-ego is Princess Leia (my favorite).

One of my “invisible friends” (friends I know only from Facebook) celebrated her daughter’s third birthday.

Another sweet couple helped the Fuller Bicycle Adventure top One Million Dollars in donations to help end poverty housing in America.

Greg and Jenny Zeroun have spent their summer bicycling across America building houses for those in need.

Greg and Jenny Zeroun have spent their summer bicycling across America building houses for those in need.

There was a bit of drama, too, of course, but I did my best to ignore it. I was reminded that bigots love to have an audience, and that one of the best ways to deal with bigotry is to refuse to engage with it.

I love Facebook. I love being able to see snippets of my friends’ and family members’ lives, even though we seldom talk on the phone and hardly ever see each other in person.

Tomorrow I’m branching out, traveling over to Reddit to see what the commotion is all about. But Facebook is my first love, and I won’t be far away. Sweet dreams.

