Tags

, , , , ,

Last night was a first: I got so caught up in the projects I was preparing for today’s Close To My Heart open house that I totally lost track of the time, and before I knew it, it was TODAY and I had totally missed yesterday’s blog post! I was NOT happy when I realized it was 12:15 a.m. I think that is only my third non-blogged day since late October 2013 when I decided to tackle daily posting.

But today is momentous. I won’t be anywhere near my computer at my usual writing time, as I will be in Fresno, caught up in an entirely different way — captured (I hope) by the music of Frank Zappa.

A mind is like a parachute. It only works when it’s open.

I’ll bet you don’t know who said that. If you guessed Frank Zappa, you get the prize! Tonight is the long-awaited “Zappa plays Zappa” concert at The Tower Theater in Fresno, one of my favorite venues. That is where we saw the Broadway touring company performance of “Jesus Christ Superstar” many years ago, and is just a couple of blocks away from where we lived when Joseph was born. Lots of memories in the Tower District. Frank’s son, Dweezel Zappa, a musician in his own right, is touring with his band playing his dad’s music. More tomorrow.

