Tags

, , ,

I have been a Linda Ronstadt fan since her Stone Poneys days; knowing that she was also Tucson-born and her family had known my family in earlier generations made her even more special to me. And as much as I love “Blue Bayou”, it pales before the gorgeousness of the three albums of standards she did with Nelson Riddle.

This week I have been enchanted by the story of how this Tucson girl made it to the Los Angeles rock and roll scene, through the crazy 70’s, and on to singing such exquisite songs as “My Funny Valentine” and “I Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out to Dry”. Simple Dreams: A Musical Memoir (Simon & Schuster, 2013) is a glorious read, filled with sweet and poignant stories of musicians we have known and loved over the years. I’ll be finishing it before I fall asleep tonight, so look for it at the Visalia branch of the Tulare County Library, or wherever wonderfully engrossing books are found!

