Tags

, , , ,

I was reading on the Moore Genealogy blog today a charming story about a beloved obstetrician, and it took my mind back to the amniocentesis procedure I had during my pregnancy with Georgia.

Even though it was nearly thirty years ago, I remember it as though it were yesterday. I was an “elderly mother” according to my obstetrician, and Grant was terrified that the LSD experiments of the 1970s would cause strange mutations in our baby’s genetic code, so an amnio was recommended (this was a relatively new procedure in 1980). Our government was still using possible birth defects as arguments against hallucinogenic drugs, even though there was absolutely no evidence to that effect. Grant made it very clear that if something was wrong with this baby, an abortion would be the only answer, and explained that he didn’t think he was up to raising a handicapped child.

I assured him that the test results would merely guide us in what to expect from our child, and that I had absolutely no intention of an abortion, no matter what. Besides, I had this incredible feeling of peace inside and was sure that this little girl (I was also very sure of her gender) was amazingly perfect.

I’ll spare you the indignity of the details of drinking 32 ounces of water while driving an hour to the doctor’s office for the test…but as the technician was doing the initial ultrasound, Grant asked her what the flashing light was on the screen. “Your baby’s heartbeat,” was her answer. She came to life for him that day, and never again did he utter the word “abortion”. He was still nervous until we heard from the geneticist, but I remained calm, and was only thrilled when she told me “my daughter” was going to be just perfect.

Georgia and her mommy, the first day home.  Dec. 1, 1984.

Georgia and her mommy, the first day home. Dec. 1, 1984.

She will be thirty next month.

