Tags

, , , , , ,

I came home from my Tuesday visit to the library with a smaller than usual, but typically eclectic stack of books: Treasures of the Civil War, legendary leaders who shaped a war and a nation (commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg); Weed Land, inside America’s marijuana epicenter and how pot went legit, by Peter Hecht; and The Girls at the Kingfisher Club, a slender little novel by Genevieve Valentine.

I started reading Weed Land and was immediately caught up in the turf war between the Feds, state laws, the work being done on so many fronts to bring medical marijuana to those who are suffering incredibly, those who simply want to get high, and the entrepreneurs who see a booming marketplace. The Girls at the Kingfisher Club was to be a little “light reading” among all the heavy stuff…until I picked it up and couldn’t put it down.

I read into the wee hours this morning, finally stopping after dropping the book on my head as I fell asleep. This story of 12 sisters who stole out of their home in the middle of the night to go dancing, moving from speakeasy to speakeasy avoiding the law, is a captivating retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses — but better! Set in Jazz Age New York, it explores love, sisterhood, and freedom.

It is lovely.

