Tags

, , , , ,

Today as a special treat, Olivia was allowed to play on the iPad while Lily was at school. Watching her, I couldn’t help but marvel at the way this four year old found the games that have been downloaded for her and maneuvered her way around the sites. She has been playing learning games on the iPad since before she was old enough to hold it in her hands, and has an almost intuitive understanding of what works and what doesn’t.

To make it even more fun, she loves explaining to her Grammy just how the whole thing works. She showed me step by step how to pick recipes, choose ingredients, make potions…and when I asked her how she knew what to do, the answer was, “I just do, Grammy.”

Lily has been waiting all week to try out a new website her teacher recommended, Readingeggs.com. (Mom and Dad have a no-electronics Monday-Thursday rule, so Friday is a big day!) As today was a minimum day due to conferences, Lily was home by early afternoon, and the first thing we did was start her Readingeggs account. She was a happy camper!

I went off to run errands for a while, but when I returned I found both girls sharing a chair and playing on Club Penguin. Such precious sister time.

Sisters at Grammy's computer

Sisters at Grammy’s computer

I finally had to kick them off my computer so that I could get something done. But the best was yet to come.

Later on, their daddy brought his computer into the living room and set it up with the steering wheel and pedals so that they could drive (and race). Lily took to driving as though she had been doing it her whole life. Eventually she was allowed to race online with a couple of people (with her daddy right at hand, of course), which thrilled her no end.

Lily displaying her mad driving skills

Lily displaying her mad driving skills

The scene in our living room was reminiscent of the families gathering around their radios in my parents’ childhood. Mom and Dad on the couch, intently watching, big sister taking turns with little sister (and Dad) at the wheel, and Grammy in the kitchen, watching and listening while I made Christmas cards.

I am so glad these girls are at ease with technology, and not in the least intimidated by it. And I am even more pleased that they love to read “real” books as well, books that can be carried to bed, read under a tree, taken along on even the briefest of car trips. They both love to learn, no matter what the medium. Life is good.

