Tags

, , ,

At the end of a productive day, I was able to indulge myself in a comfort-food filled dinner: Campbell’s Vegetarian Vegetable Soup, Towne House Crackers liberally smeared with peanut butter, and a big bowl of Dryer’s Butterfinger Ice Cream.

When I was a kid, a dinner of soup and crackers was reserved for nights that Daddy was out of town or working the swing shift. Mom felt strongly that meatless meals were okay for us, but Daddy did hard physical labor and should have meat with his dinner. And that was just fine with me. Those comfort-food dinners (soup and crackers, grilled cheese sandwiches, and very occasionally pancakes) were some of my favorites. I didn’t realize until way later how inexpensive they were, and how much that helped the family’s bottom line.

Long live comfort foods and the happy memories we associate with them.

