Tags

, , , , , ,

March, by Geraldine Brooks

I started March with great anticipation, it being recommended to me by two different people whose opinions I value. I am a collector of all things connected to the Alcott family, and by extension, to the March family as portrayed in Little Women and its successors. I think I would have found this Civil War story more compelling had it not been connected to the March family I of whom I am so fond. Geraldine Brooks did meticulous research on the Civil War, especially conditions in the wartime hospitals, as well as the contraband of runaway slaves.

That said, I was disappointed in her portrayal of Mrs. March and her temper, even though Marmee had often counseled Jo over hers. And I didn’t find the physical relationship between Mr. March and Grace to be plausible or necessary.

The ethical struggles of Mr. and Mrs. March as they progressed through their idealism towards freeing the slaves and the harsh realities they experienced with both the war and the Underground Railroad were very movingly advanced, and were central to the story.

March was, for me, a Goodread, but not as great a read as I had expected.

Reading goal for 2015: 50 books. This was #2/50.

