Tags

, , ,

I will be working late tonight with guests who are trying to avoid the “Valentine’s Day Rush”, so I thought this afternoon would be a great time to share some vintage Valentines with you. These all came from a group Daddy brought home after his stepmother died…they were from her family, and range age-wise from the mid 1930s to 1940s. Enjoy!

Can you imagine having a Valentine advertising a cigarette brand?

Can you imagine having a Valentine advertising a cigarette brand?

True Love's Greeting

True Love’s Greeting

The sentiment on the back reads: “I send this word to you my love; It will always hold true; As long as you love me, my love, I surely will love you.”

This heart-shaped card is of printed lace, hinged at the top.

This heart-shaped card is of printed lace, hinged at the top.

The Cupid card is hinged at the top and the inside reads: “I’ve sent little Cupid with his arrow and his bow, To call upon the dearest and the sweetest girl I know. For she’s captured my heart by her sweet, winning way, And I have a question to ask her some day.” And written in spidery script on the back: To Amanda Brown From someone you know.

This Googly-eyed pair are printed on cardstock with fold-up stands. The girl’s eyes can go from left to right with a pull tab; the boy says “To My Valentine”. They look very much like Grace Drayton’s drawings, but have no markings on them.

This Googly-eyed girl has eyes that move back and forth with a pull tab.

This Googly-eyed girl has eyes that move back and forth with a pull tab.

I think perhaps this little boy would give chocolate-covered ants to his Valentine!

I think perhaps this little boy would give chocolate-covered ants to his Valentine!

My Valentine’s Day wish for each of you is a day filled with wonder and the presence of someone you love.

