Tags

, , ,

My plan for Friday was to get all ready for my trip out of town, write my blog post for Friday, and then write Saturday’s post for auto-posting in my absence before leaving. Acknowledging that I had run out of time for a Saturday post and needed to simply walk away was so difficult, but that was my reality Friday afternoon. So, for perhaps the third time in the past nearly 500 posts, I chose to skip a day. Ouch!

But I’m back, relaxed, refreshed, and happy to be here with my family again. The weekend at Stamp Camp was truly amazing: Good food, beautiful scenery, and the company of 23 other talented women. My favorite project was the SheArt workshop taught by Jen Patrick. Starting with a 6″x 6″ square piece of paper, we were to create a representation of ourselves and highlight important ideas or qualities. After building our artwork, we attached it to a canvas, then covered it with several layers of ModPoge. The hardest part was determining what we wanted to say about ourselves, and then trusting that the ModPoge (which went on wet, cloudy, and lumpy) would dry clear and smooth. There were no right or wrong answers to how we depicted ourselves, and the thinking and gathering materials took far longer than did the actual creating. I nearly drove Jen crazy stressing over my lumpy canvas. She kept repeating, “It isn’t dry yet, Fawn. Wait until it is dry,” while I whined and fussed. And, sure enough, when I visited my canvas this morning it was dry, clear, and un-ridged. And I loved it!

My SheArt piece.  The background paper is from CTMH (of course), the self-portrait is a paper doll stamp, and the roses were individually fussy-cut from other CTMH papers.

My SheArt piece. The background paper is from CTMH (of course), the self-portrait is a paper doll stamp, and the roses were individually fussy-cut from other CTMH papers.

The journaling says,
“She loves unconditionally
She shares stories
She chooses happiness
She is amazing”

Around the edges (where you can’t see in the picture) I chose these words: Share trust hope pray celebrate play challenge create question hope dream love.
I didn’t realize until just now that I repeated the word “hope”. I don’t think that was an accident!

