Tags

, , ,

(This is Sunday, my weekly “day off” from April’s A-Z Challenge. I have no verb definitions for you tonight.)

I have a long and storied history of watching shows diligently from the very beginning and somehow falling asleep just before the end. This happens especially often while watching Fresno State football or basketball games. I watch and cheer and concentrate and then find myself ten minutes after the game ended, having to turn to the news broadcast in order to find out the final score. Most frustrating!

Tonight I did it again! My English friend, James Mitchell, alerted me to the new PBS Masterpiece series, Wolf Hall, which premiered this evening. I commandeered the television from the girls at 10:00 p.m., and only left the room long enough to hear their prayers. And James was right — this story of Oliver Cromwell, Henry VIII, and Anne Boleyn is wonderfully done and very engrossing. But I fell asleep with ten minutes left to go, and awoke with a crick in my neck at 11:15, totally missing those last moments so crucial to my understanding of next week’s episode.

I stayed up way late last night filling plastic eggs for the church’s Easter egg hunt, and then got up early to get ready for church, so I’m not surprised that I dozed off. I’m just amazed that I couldn’t manage a full sixty minutes of Masterpiece Theater. And now, of course, I’m wide awake, having gotten my second wind from that twenty-minute power nap!

Sweet dreams.

