Tags

, , ,

This was such a lovely Mother’s Day for me, and I am so grateful for all those who helped make it so. From the girls’ Sunday School teacher who helped them paint flower pots for their mom and grammy, to my first-thing-in-the-morning phone call from Daddy, sharing presents with Georgia and the girls later on, talking with Melody in Ohio, Joseph during my 10-minute break at work, and Aunt Betty on the way home, I heard the voices of so many loved ones today.

Flowers and chocolate from Georgia and Nick, and flowers from Lily and Olivia.

Flowers and chocolate from Georgia and Nick, and flowers from Lily and Olivia.

Olive Garden was packed this afternoon with families coming in to honor their mothers, and I was delighted to exchange “Happy Mother’s Day” greetings with my OG family members as we passed each other while caring for our guests. And for an added treat, all I had to do was look into the kitchen to see Georgia on the line and see her smile.

Georgia, Mom, Lily, and Me...four DeMurls (the second set).

Georgia, Mom, Lily, and Me…four DeMurls (the second set).

The bonus was a visit with Ana on my way home from work…I miss running back and forth from our house to hers on holidays and ordinary days…living around the corner just isn’t the same. And she shared a wonderful flame red dress with me, plus lots of hugs.

My Mother’s Day focus has changed since Mom died, and I don’t know whether I will ever adjust to not hearing her voice on the phone or being able to be with her, but it is still a wonderful day to celebrate all the mothers in my life. I have had such good examples, and I hope I am doing them justice.

However you spent your day today, I hope you were blessed by the ones you love and who love you. Happy Mother’s Day.

Me with the women who taught me how to be a mother.  (l - r:  Me, Grammy Buffington, Mom, and Melody in the front)

Me with the women who taught me how to be a mother. (l – r: Me, Grammy Buffington, Mom, and Melody in the front)

