Tags

, , ,

Some of you know that for many years Mom and I dreamed of having a tea room together, and we both collected tea things with that goal in mind.  It isn’t nearly as much fun to contemplate without her, so earlier this year I started letting go of some of those things — including numerous cup and saucer sets that I decided I wouldn’t need.

Now, of course, Georgia and I are planning a tea party, and part of that tea party includes having each little girl take home a bone china cup as a souvenir.  I pulled some boxes out of storage today, and found four likely candidates that I could live without.  I also found my favorite Avon Momcat tea pot and her kittens, Miss Cream and Mr. Sugar.  Tomorrow I’m hitting a friend’s yard sale in hopes of finding more cups and saucers, then on to my local antique stores for even more.

I have had this little Avon Momcat teapot and her kittens for many years.  It will be perfect for the party!

I have had this little Avon Momcat teapot and her kittens for many years. It will be perfect for the party!

For the past hour or so I have been tying silk flowers to the end of fishing line, to suspend from the ceiling above the tea table.  It is tedious, as I can’t see what I’m doing and the fishing line is unwieldy.  Georgia comes up with wonderful ideas, but sometimes they are a pain to carry out!  I am thankful we still have two days to get ready!

