Tags

, , , ,

I happily accepted the Louisa May Alcott Reading Challenge last week (visit IntheBookcase for more info about the challenge), and while poking around Amazon.com to order Eden’s Outcasts:  The Story of Louisa May Alcott and her Father,I discovered Eve LaPlante’s Marmee & Louisa:  The Untold Story of Louisa May Alcott and her Mother.  So, of course, I ordered it, too, and added it to my challenge list.

I had a couple of (albeit distracted) hours’ reading time this morning while getting a new thermostat for my Jeep, so I jumped into the story of Louisa and Abigail May.  I’m enjoying it immensely, although I am not nearly as surprised as the author seems to be about how smart and self-educated Abigail is.  That is the mother Louisa gave us with Marmee in Little Women, and she never hesitated to acknowledge that her mother was the model for her character.

I’ll give you a progress update later.  Now it is reading time.

