This mama’s heart is full of happiness tonight, with all my children under my roof.  I can hear Joseph, Erika, Nick, and Georgia visiting on the patio outside my bedroom window, Lily and Olivia are playing together in the living room, and Chance is snoring softly.

The girls and I finished our three days of “Camp Courage” Vacation Bible School today, and celebrated the end of the adventure with a camping menu of hot dogs, watermelon (from the church garden), and potato salad.  After our campers serenaded their parents, grandparents, and teachers with songs they had learned this week, we braved the 104 degree heat and roasted marshmallows over the fire pit.  (I think I remember now why we usually do s’mores late in the evening, after the day cools down!)

Roasting marshmallows on the porch of the Little House

Roasting marshmallows on the porch of the Little House

Yesterday’s theme, the Courage to Love, found the kids learning about the story of The Good Samaritan, answering the question, “Who is my neighbor?”  They filled more of the yellow bags from Bishop David with items necessary for someone who is unhoused:  water, lightweight snacks, toiletries, and first-aid supplies.  The bags have now been christened “Samaritan bags” and each child took one to keep in the family car to share with a neighbor in need.  (There are still more for the congregation to give out, as well.)

Our campers, Suzy, and the filled Samaritan Bags.

Our campers, Suzy, and the filled Samaritan Bags.

All evening Olivia has been serenading us with camp songs she learned this week, from “I will make you fishers of men” to “This little light of mine” and “Ho ho ho hosanna”.  I hope the songs in their hearts will keep this week’s lessons of Jesus’ love fresh and warm for all our campers.

Life is good.

