Tags

, , , , ,

So what does a self-confessed bookworm do when she is flat on her back and sitting is miserable?  She reads…a lot!  I know I’m way behind in recording/reporting my reading  for 2015, but I will happily share my reading over the past three days.  (I’ll catch up on previous reads later.)

Lily brought Inkheart home to read over the Labor Day weekend.  Inkheart is a wonderful young adult fantasy by Cornelia Funke, the first in a trilogy that also includes Inkspell and Inkdeath.  I picked it up Sunday afternoon after calling off work, and before nightfall I had passed Lily’s bookmark and was nearly half way done.  With Monday being another day of enforced leisure, I completed it by mid-afternoon, much to Lily’s chagrin.

I was totally charmed by the story of Meggie, the girl who had no memory of her book-restorer father ever reading aloud to her.  Through the misadventures of her father and her lost mother’s aunt, she discovered his terrifying gift, and came to realize that she shared it, as well.  I will be looking for the next two stories in our local library soon.

Today Lily brought home The Tale of Despereaux, by Kate DiCamillo.  I read the story of this tiny little mouse who fell in love with a princess before bedtime, and found it totally charming.  I will give it back to Lily to finish when she wakes up in the morning.

Tomorrow I will catch up with some more of my reading for the past month or so…somehow book reviews just haven’t been forthcoming.  But I can say that I am well on track to read 50 books this year.

Accounted for so far:

22/50 of 2015 Reading Challenge.

