Tags

, , , ,

Wednesday morning while Daddy was sleeping and Melody was still at her hotel, I went for a walk.  It was a glorious  morning, warm for the coast, but not uncomfortably so, and once I did my circuit of the neighborhood, I ventured across Valley Road and down along Los Berros Creek.

This is the same creek that used to lure my little brother on Saturday mornings when the adults were trying to sleep in a bit, the creek that was off limits for a little boy and his bicycle, the creek that was home to his favorite creatures.

Of course, the creek bed is dry now.  When the rains come it will fill quickly, but that is rather hard to imagine.

Los Berros Creek is completely dry.

Los Berros Creek is completely dry.

Even with so little moisture, I found flowers all along the path.  This Queen Anne’s Lace was growing in a clump of dandelions.

Queen Anne's Lace

Queen Anne’s Lace

Looking rather like weeds themselves were these “Petroleum Pipeline” warning signs.  I had no idea there was a pipeline going across the creek and up through the neighborhood.

Warning: Petroleum Pipeline

Warning: Petroleum Pipeline

I would love to see this sunflower in full bloom — it was so lovely still in bud.

Sunflower bud

Sunflower bud

There was a massive bed of wild daisy-like flowers…probably thirty feet across and at least ten feet deep.  They were a lovely soft blue with grey-green foliage.

Wild daisies

Wild daisies

My most surprising discovery as I followed the creek path eastward was a grove of palm trees, edged with young grape vines.  They can’t be seen from Los Berros Road; I had no idea they were being cultivated nearby.

A grove of baby palm trees off Los Berros Road. Who knew?

A grove of baby palm trees off Los Berros Road. Who knew?

The palms were paired with young grape vines -- a perfect crop for a

The palms were paired with young grape vines — a perfect crop for a “gentleman farmer”.

By the time I got back home I had logged 2.25 miles on my Fitbit, and it was just barely 9:00 a.m.  Melody arrived shortly after, and Part II of my lovely day’s adventure began.

