Tags

, , , ,

The “Dish” I have been working on tonight is learning more about NaNoWriMo, which is coming up in November.  National Novel Writing Month challenges its participants to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November, and provides a writing community of fellow travelers for encouragement, direction, enthusiasm, and pointers.

I have watched friends participate in NaNoWriMo for a couple of years, and have felt the “bug” nibbling at my toes.  So between the NaNoWriMo Facebook page and website, I have become more and more intrigued.  There appears to be a thriving community of writers who share the fun, frustrations, and inspiration throughout the month and beyond.  Two very special friends of mine, Carrie Baize and James Mitchell, are part of that writing community, and have encouraged me by their success.

I must admit that I am a bit intimidated by the whole process.  Can I really write 50,000 mostly-coherent words in a month?  That’s 1,666 words per day…considerably more than my typical blog post.  But if I don’t try, don’t start, I’ll never finish.  So watch this space as I sort out my reservations, do my groundwork, and make my decision.

Sweet dreams.

