Tags

, , , , ,

I love holiday traditions, especially those that involve going somewhere special with my granddaughters and daughter.  A tradition that has been ongoing since Lily was a little baby is our annual visit to Vossler Farms’ Pumpkin Patch and Corn Maze.

With Halloween in five days, we were running out of time, so off Georgia, the girls, and I went after ballet.  (I am used to going in the daytime, as we did for two years each girl with their preschool classes.)  It was dusk as we were arriving, so we relied on the bright lights and full moon to help us make our way through the crowds and pumpkins.

Georgia is better at shooting "selfies" than anyone else I know.

Georgia is better at shooting “selfies” than anyone else I know.

Our first stop was the corn maze (the baby maze), where we wove our way in and out of towering corn stalks, round and round and round.  We eventually found our way safely out, and I breathed a sigh of relief!

I must admit to being relieved at getting out of the maze in a relatively short time!

I must admit to being relieved at getting out of the maze in a relatively short time!

Four perfect pumpkins were selected (one for Mom, Dad, Lily, and Olivia) and I had the task of wheeling them back to the register.  At first I thought I had a flat tire on the wheel barrow, but it was just the weight of the pumpkins that made it so hard to push.  Who needs the gym, anyway?

They were heavy!

They were heavy!

Pumpkin Patch 2015 was a great success!

By next year Lily may be as tall as her mom!

By next year Lily may be as tall as her mom!

When we got back home, the girls decorated Halloween sugar cookies, a lovely way to top off the evening.  And tomorrow we will get to eat them!

Starting to decorate the Halloween cookies

Starting to decorate the Halloween cookies

