Tags

, , , ,

I have been uncharacteristically quiet this week.  Nothing bad has happened; I have just been settling into my new life as a single (twice divorced) person.  After being separated from my (now ex-) husband-who-lives-across-town for over 5 years, I thought I would hardly notice the difference.  But every time I write “Fawn Pender” on something, I am reminded that I made the right decision.

Monday was “change the name” day.  I visited the Social Security Administration Office (waited an hour outside in the cold before they opened), the Department of Motor Vehicles (another hour), and finally my local credit union.  All wanted to see the precious document that stated “restore my former (maiden) name”.  But now that part is done, although there are a myriad of other small places it must also be changed.  Any ideas on how to change a google email address that is my first initial and last name?

People along the way asked, “How long were you married?” and when I say 34 years they don’t know whether to be sad or happy for me.  In truth, the first 10 would probably have been enough; I am just very stubborn and don’t like to give up.  Sadly, my children would concur, and they were a big reason I stayed married all those years.

So today my footsteps are lighter, and I have decidedly less baggage to carry.  Life as a single senior woman is good.

