Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday I bemoaned my lack of writing progress for the NaNoWriMo challenge I accepted earlier this month.  The end goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November, and there is a lovely web page where participants can track their progress (if they are making any, that is).

I have really only worked on my novel four days this month (including this morning).  I am living Judith Viorst’s statement that “You can have it all, just not all at the same time.”  I wrote this morning because I was supposed to be working on cards for tonight’s Helping One Woman dinner.  And I think in order to write, I should be “supposed to be” doing something else, which I will put off by writing.

Anyhow, The NaNoWriMo webpage has a progress tracker for writing, based on  the word count I post each day.  And according to their figures, I am in a world of hurt!  My progress goes something like this:

Your average words per day:  270

Words written today:  1271

Target word count:  50,000

Target average words per day:  1667

Total words written:  4599

Words remaining:  45,401

Current day:  17

Days remaining:  14

At this rate you will finish on:  May 4, 2016

Words per day to finish on time:  3243

Lifetime Achievement:  Total NaNoWord Count:  4599

Two statistics on this list really jumped out at me:  “At this rate you will finish on May 4, 2016” and “Lifetime Achievement:   4599”

Not only do I have a ridiculously long way to go, still being 45,401 words short, but I have also written 4599 words more than I had on October 31, 2015.  I may not –no, probably will not — finish 50,000 words by November 30, 2015.  But I have started, and am gaining momentum.

Now, if you will excuse me, I need to go make some greeting cards for tonight.

Thanksgiving card created for Second Saturday Scrapping workshop last weekend.

Thanksgiving card created for Second Saturday Scrapping workshop last weekend.

